reviews

Review: Chain of Gold

17699853Chain of Gold by Cassandra Clare

Genre: Fantasy, Romance, YA

Published on: March 2020

Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books

Format: Hardcover

Language: English

My Rating: ★★★★.5 

Synopsis:

“Chain of Gold is the first novel in a new trilogy that stars the Shadowhunters of Edwardian London.

Welcome to Edwardian London, a time of electric lights and long shadows, the celebration of artistic beauty and the wild pursuit of pleasure, with demons waiting in the dark. For years there has been peace in the Shadowhunter world. James and Lucie Herondale, children of the famous Will and Tessa, have grown up in an idyll with their loving friends and family, listening to stories of good defeating evil and love conquering all. But everything changes when the Blackthorn and Carstairs families come to London…and so does a remorseless and inescapable plague.

James Herondale longs for a great love, and thinks he has found it in the beautiful, mysterious Grace Blackthorn. Cordelia Carstairs is desperate to become a hero, save her family from ruin, and keep her secret love for James hidden. When disaster strikes the Shadowhunters, James, Cordelia and their friends are plunged into a wild adventure which will reveal dark and incredible powers, and the true cruel price of being a hero…and falling in love.”

My Thoughts:

It felt so good to be back in the shadowhunters world! And in a new series, with some old and beloved characters as well.

This book was definitely more focused on the characters and their relationship rather than on the plot, but luckily I love Cassie’s characters so I’m all here for it. We got to see some old favorites playing different roles (such as parents and uncles) while we got to discover and fall in love with new characters. Only Cassie could get me this invested in so many new characters within just a few pages. And oh man, was I invested.

The Merry Thieves are adorable and I love their group dynamics, Lucy and Cordelia are amazing and I can’t wait for them to be parabatai, Anna is everything and overall I just want them all to be happy 😊

The plot was rather slow and a bit dragged out, but still very interesting to read about. This book was clearly setting everything up for the rest of the series and it seems like it’ll be a thrilling ride. Have I mentioned how invested I am in these characters and their happiness??

This is on the bigger size for being the first book in a trilogy but I read it in 3 days and I regret nothing. I felt all the feels, laughed and despaired and raged and fell in love with this world all over again. Chain of Gold is not my favorite Cassie Clare book, but it’s pretty close and it’s definitely one of my favorite reads of the year so far.

Have you read this book yet? Did you love it as well?

Until next time, 

juli

6 thoughts on “Review: Chain of Gold

    1. Her books are ao good! There are a lot, but if you’d like to start I’d recommend reading them in publishing order. All the series are interconnected at some point or another so this is the beat way to avoid spoilers. I hope you enjoy them 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  1. YESSSS I totally agree – I don’t know how Cassie does it, but I’m somehow always deeply invested in ANY new characters, usually within a page of them being introduced. It’s a real problem 😂I don’t know how I’m gonna wait another year for Chain of Iron 😢

    💛Ngoc

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment